Supervisory board

On 13 December 2017, the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine approved a new composition of Naftogaz supervisory board appointing six new directors.
The following independent directors have joined the board: Clare Spottiswoode (Great Britain), Bruno Lescoeur (France), Amos Hochstein (U.S.) and Steven Haysom (Canada). In addition, the government has appointed Volodymyr Kudrytskyi (Ukraine) and Serhij Popyk (Ukraine) to represent the government on the board together with Volodymyr Demchyshyn (Ukraine) who has served on the board since its formation in 2Q 2016.

* * * * *

Clare Spottiswoode
Chairperson of the supervisory board
Before joining Naftogaz supervisory board, Clare Spottiswoode was the Chairman of Gas Strategies and continues to be a director of the company. Clare has a formidable track record in the gas sector and was the Director General of Ofgas (the predecessor gas-focused regulatory body to Ofgem) between 1993 and 1998 at the time of driving through the breakup of British Gas and the liberalization of the gas market in Great Britain.
Over the past 20 years, she has a significant international track record as NED of both listed and unlisted entities. She has also acted as an economist at HM Treasury, the United Kingdom’s economic and finance ministry responsible for formulating and implementing the government’s financial and economic policy, lectured at London Business School, and set up and managed private business interests.
Clare Spottiswoode holds a Master of Philosophy degree in Economics from Yale University and a Master of Arts degree in Mathematics and Economics from Cambridge University. Clare’s qualifications as board member include her significant executive management, regulatory, corporate governance and board level experience in oil and gas related industries.
She also has strong relationships with influential government, academic and industry leaders.
Declaration of independence

* * *
Volodymyr Demchyshyn
Deputy chairman of the supervisory board

Volodymyr Demchyshyn, a member of Naftogaz supervisory board since 21 April 2016, has been serving as its deputy chairman starting from 18 April 2017. He has many years of experience in the financial sector. He began his career at Ernst & Young, where he worked as corporate finance manager between 2005 and 2006. Next, he spent over two years as a vice president of ING Bank. He served as director of investment and banking services at Investment Capital Ukraine (ICU) from 2008 to 2014. Prior to his appointment as the Minister of Energy and Coal Industry of Ukraine in December 2014, Volodymyr Demchyshyn chaired the National Energy and Utilities Regulatory Commission (NEURC).
He graduated with a degree in international economic relations from Ivan Franko State University in Lviv. Then he successfully completed study at European University Viadrina in Frankfurt (Order), where he obtained his degree in international business administration. In addition, he received an MBA in international finance from the Kansas State University in the US.
Volodymyr Demchyshyn speaks fluent English, German and Polish.

* * *
Bruno Lescoeur
Member of the supervisory board
Bruno Lescoeur has occupied among the highest functions in the French energy sector including the responsibility for nuclear operations of Electricite de France (EDF) and the responsibility of all international activities of EDF.
A former member of EDF’ Executive Committee (one of the largest global energy companies), he has a very extensive experience in the gas sector: he supervised gas activities of the group and was the CEO of the Italian group EDISON, the oil and gas subsidiary of EDF.
He has therefore been involved in some of the largest deals and projects in the electricity and gas sector in Europe over the last two decades, making a huge contribution to the strategic transformation and internationalisation of EDF’s activities.
He has an extremely deep understanding of key issues governing energy sector transformation in Europe: unbundling, climate commitments, etc.
Declaration of independence
* * *
Amos Hochstein
Member of the supervisory board
Besides Naftogaz, Amos holds the position of SVP Marketing at Tellurian (US). Before that, he served as the US Special Envoy for International Energy Affairs and led the US Department of State’s Bureau of Energy Resources. As the US “Energy Diplomat,” Amos Hochstein oversaw global US energy foreign policy engagement and advised the Secretary of State and the Vice President of the US on global energy markets.
As Special Envoy, Amos Hochstein led the engagement to strengthen Europe’s energy security through diversification of natural gas resources; authored the White House Caribbean Energy Security Initiative; chaired the President’s US - Caribbean and US - Central American Energy Security Task Force; led US efforts to promote global fuel switching to natural gas and develop stronger natural gas markets throughout Asia and South Asia. Working closely with the Department of Defense, Mr. Hochstein led the US efforts to diminish ISIL and other terrorist groups’ profits from energy assets. Prior to serving in the State Department, Mr. Hochstein served in a variety of senior level positions on Capitol Hill and advised energy companies entering and developing new markets.
Declaration of independence

* * *
Serhij Popyk
Member of the supervisory board

Serhij Popyk is a foreign affairs advisor to the Prime Minister of Ukraine, diplomat, and international relations expert.
Serhij served in Ukraine’s diplomatic missions to Romania and Lithuania, and headed the Embassy of Ukraine to the Republic of Lithuania between 2010 and 2011.
Education: Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University, Diplomatic Academy of Ukraine under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Ukraine, internship at the University of Vienna and the Institute of East and Southeast European Studies (Austria). Academic titles: PhD in history, assistant professor. Serhij wrote a series of monographs, scientific articles and publications.
Languages: Romanian, English and German.

* * *
Volodymyr Kudrytskyi
Member of the supervisory board

Being a member of Naftogaz supervisory board, Volodymyr continues to work as chief investment and strategy officer at National Power Company “Ukrenergo”, where his responsibilities include strategic planning, project management, investment policy implementation, change management and relations with international creditors.
Before his appointment to Ukrenergo, Volodymyr worked as director for development at PJSC “Ukrtransnafta”, operations manager and head of internal audit at the leading international and Ukrainian companies such as MHP S.A., EastOne, ТNK-ВР and Grant Thornton.
Education: international economics degree from Kyiv National Economic University. Professional membership: Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (UK), certified internal auditor (CIA) with the Institute of Internal Auditors (US), member of the advisory and supervisory group of the Construction Sector Transparency Initiative.
Languages: English, French and Polish.
Hobbies: classics of literature, philosophy, football and travels.

* * *
Background information: the previous composition of the supervisory board has been approved by Order of the Ministry of Economic Development and Trade of Ukraine dated 21 April 2016 No. 725. At that time, the board consisted of three independent directors Paul Warwick, Charles Proctor and Markus Richards, and two representatives of the government – the then First Deputy Minister of Economic Development and Trade Yulia Kovaliv, and the former Minister of Energy and Coal Industry Volodymyr Demchyshyn.
Yulia Kovaliv, the board’s chairperson, quit in April 2017; and all independent directors announced their resignation in September 2017 explaining this decision with government’s critical delays in progressing with the agreed reforms.

* * * * *